Reviewa

Recipes for Disaster by Sheryl Browne – Part of the Romantic Heroes Event

Hello! I’d like to kick this off by saying how lucky I am to be included in another of Sheryl Brownes wonderful events! I took part in her tour for Learning to Love earlier this year and jumped at the chance to be part of her Romantic Heroes event!

I was given Recipes for Disaster as my book du jour for this event and I’ve got to say right off the bat, I was frightened of it…however as soon as I got going, well, I found I identified with Lisa!

Let’s just say, Lisa isn’t the most confident of cooks…so my first impression before I’d read more than the first page was wrong… Lisa isn’t a confident cook who’s going to make me feel terrible about myself. No. Lisa is like me! I’d burn water if I tried, I’m incompetent in the kitchen beyond making a coffee. I knew instantly, that I was going to Love this book…

Lisa is not Lorraine Pascal in the kitchen, but with a new man, the hunky policeman Adam, on the scene. She’s going to have to make it look like she is… Thank god for Becky, her dutiful best friend who is very competent in the kitchen, even if she does have a less than competent man at home.

With a refreshing mix of hilarity, romance and very original recipes. Recipes for Disaster is a fantastic book, switching from the heat in the kitchen to the heat in relationships brilliantly.
Adding a good dose of a midget Jack Russell with excitement issues, a parrot without a filter and a potential Mother in Law with regal ambitions and Sheryl Browne has again written a book that touches on the many real life issues we all face.

I love Sheryl’s frank depiction of real life people, I mean who can say they’re good at everything? Her characters are likeable, lovable really, and the way she weaves their lives into the story is brilliant.

Did I mention the Australian hunk? No…well, you’d better just read it then…

I admit I won’t try a single recipe, I’m not allowed to at home…

Because I don’t do spoilers, because, well, they spoil things…check out the blurb here with handy buy links too!

Recipes for Disaster

She’s a single. He’s a widower. She wants him. He wants her. She wants to impress. So does he. There’s just one catch – she can’t cook. To get him, she needs to get past the big fish – his mother. Lucky her, she’s got an Ace up her sleeve and all she’s got to do is impress this one time. Bad luck, though, her new guy can’t cook either, her dog Rambo is on the loose and now they’ve got to pull off the big lunch at the club. Will it be a match made in heaven? Will they be able to pull off a culinary miracle? Will their combined efforts result in love at first bite? Or is it simply a Recipe for Disaster?
Recipes for Disaster – Amazon.co.uk Amazon.com

Don’t forget to check out the Event!

“En Garde! Safkhet Publishing and Sheryl Browne are going on tour and bringing you the entire Sheryl Browne romance collection! Follow the adventures of your Romantic Heroes and get your chance to win signed copies of all Sheryl’s books—Recipes for Disaster, Somebody to Love, Warrant for Love, A Little Bit of Madness, and Learning to Love.” The tour runs from 16th September until 27th September (excluding weekends) and promises to be a lot of fun!
As part of this tour Safkhet publishing is having a fantastic short story competition! The prizes are – Finalists will have their story published in an e-anthology and the winner will be offered a publishing contract. For full details go tohttp://safkhetpublishing.wordpress.com/ where full terms and conditions can be found.
And there’s more! There will be reviews, author interviews and guest posts. Plus, if you’ve ever read any of Sheryl’s books in the past, then you are invited to post the link to your review to be in with a chance of winning a prize!
Now for the small print: This competition is not run in conjunction with Facebook and Facebook is not responsible for any competitions held on this page or for providing prizes.

20130926-085452.jpg

2 thoughts on “Recipes for Disaster by Sheryl Browne – Part of the Romantic Heroes Event

  1. Oh, Nicola!!! What a fabulous, hilarious review!!! “parrot without a filter!!!” haw, haw! I totally love it! Ill let you into a secret, my publisher came to dinner. We were going to be cooking from the book!!! Yay!! Erm, guess who did the cooking?? Yep, my publisher. THANK you soooo much, sweetie. I am so glad you loved, Lisa!! And Adam … and the Australian hunk!! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

